Witness Football

European Super League: ‘Why, what and who’ is behind this new league

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Is this the end of football? After Sunday’s groundbreaking developments in the football administration, the top 12 teams from Premier League, La Liga, Seria A sign up for the Super League that will be exclusively played between these top teams, everything seems to be falling apart.

European Super League is going to be a competition where the top 15 teams from Europe are going to compete on the top level. AC Milan, Arsenal, Atletico Madrid, Barcelona, Chelsea, Inter Milan, Juventus, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Real Madrid, and Tottenham have all joined.

According to reports, three more clubs are supposed to join as founding members of the competition before the inaugural ceremony. Three more clubs that were supposed to join these 12 were thought to be Bayern Munich, Borrusia Dortmund, and PSG. Borrusia Dortmund released a statement where they made it clear that they are not joining the Super League, and the other two clubs have not been persuaded by the proposition.

15 founding members will be competing in this competition every season irrespective of their performance in the domestic leagues while the other 5 places will available for the teams to qualify for. The 20 teams will be divided into two groups of ten, playing home and away fixtures. The top three teams from both groups will automatically qualify for the quarterfinals and the fourth and fifth-placed teams will have to compete for the remaining places in the quarter-finals which will be a two-legged knockout stage. The clubs focused on the Super League don’t mean to contend in UEFA rivalries, for example, the Champions League if the arrangement happens as expected.

The establishing clubs will get €3.5 billion, divided among the 15 clubs after joining, and this would be focused on counterbalancing the misfortunes supported during the worldwide pandemic and helping foundation venture plans.

“Super League published an official statement:

Chairman: Florentino Perez (Real Madrid)

Vice-Chairman: Andrea Agnelli (Juventus)

Vice-chairman: Joel Glazer (Man United)

Also:  Andrea Agnelli is set to resign as president of ECA.”

(Source : Fabrizio Romano Twitter)

Now, what is ECA? ECA is the European Club Association, which is a body representing the interests of over 200 professional clubs in UEFA. It was formed in 2008 and is recognized by the UEFA.

Manchester United, Chelsea, and Arsenal have resigned from the ECA, meaning Ed Woodward has stepped down from his UEFA role following the European Super League announcement on Sunday. On the other hand, Arsenal CEO Venkatesham has also stepped down from the ECA board. 

Many questions are yet to be answered. But the bottom line is: 

– It is designed to replace the UEFA Champions League.

– Will deplete gigantic assets (ad income, talents, and so forth) from both UEFA and national leagues

– Will bring complications in player contracts 

– The underlying response has been overwhelmingly negative.

Image credit- FC Spartak Moscow Twitter

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Subhankar Sasmal

Subhankar Sasmal

Leave a Reply